1st Tutorial: Free Penguin Coffee Cup Sleeve Pattern

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAGood morning everyone! If I had a choice of working during my personal peak hours, I am certain I wouldn’t be recognized as “a regular” in neighbourhood cafes.

I recall working near a series of great coffee shops several years ago. As a result, at least one staff and one manager knew me by my name from all 5 cafes within a quick walking distance. That’s bad.

I was really sluggish when I initially thought about what to do for my 1st tutorial. That’s when the idea came to me: Early birds!


OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAPutting what bird on it?

Two of my close friends must have rubbed off on me. They often speak about the idea of running away to meet penguins whenever they are going through some rough patches. What better bird is there than a penguin to comfort me when I get out of bed, and brace the storm of the day?


Changing Colours & Crooked Edges

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERATo be honest, the pattern would have been a lot quicker & easier had I decide to use a simple “change colours” method for the belly. Because changing colours mid-way would most likely cause a wobbly edge, I prefer to crochet in partial rounds then sew the parts together.

Take a look at the picture on the left:

Front – Lilac & White
– Colour Changing Method
– Less aligned edges with light colour showing

Back – Fuchsia Pink & White
Crochet in ‘partial round’ and sewing method
– More even edges, less light colour showing

Pattern & Tutorial Download Below:

In this tutorial, you will be working in rounds as well as “partial rounds”–as seen in Section 3a of the doodle below. This doodle basically tells you how each section of the pattern/tutorial come together.

penguintutorial

Click The Picture or the link below to open up .pdf in new window:
SleepyPenguinSleeve.MM.Tutorial.03.2015

Note: I crochet on the relatively tight side when I made this pattern. If you are used to working with blankets and scarves, you might want to use a size smaller hook for this project.


Featured Work & Volunteers

Thanks to amazing pattern testers, I am able to tweak my first pattern and make this available to you. If you wish to have your penguins join this gallery, send me a link of your picture and a bit about yourself through my Contact Page, or message me on Facebook.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Want to see more work from these volunteer artists? You can find Jessica and Katie at their Facebook pages below.


So.. what do you think? Questions, Comments, and feedback are highly appreciated!

5 thoughts on “1st Tutorial: Free Penguin Coffee Cup Sleeve Pattern

  1. Crystal Wall says:

    So cute, I found you on Moogly, and P&P Fiber Arts Party. I love the pattern, great job on the tutorial too. I love to crochet and am always looking for new ideas. You can click my “crochet Wallet” link and it will take you to my crochet blog. I would love it if you would stop by! Thanks for sharing!
    ~Crystal
    http://krystlewv.blogspot.com
    Crochet A Day In The LIfe

    Liked by 1 person

    • Molly Marmalade Yarn Critters & Stuff says:

      Hi Crystal, thanks for swinging by and leaving me encouraging words! Great work on the clutch wallet too.

      How is your Masa bag going? Have you figured out the strap stretchy problem yet? I know that people sometimes sew a piece of non-stretchy fabric on the underside of the strap to maintain its shape. Hope it all works out!

      Like

Leave a Reply

